csa yumminess

i love my csa box. i’m not really sure why it’s taken me this long to sign up for one, but it’s one of the best things about my summer. granted, my summer is basically filled with classes, and i haven’t been to the beach at all yet, and i barely see my super busy workaholic husband, and i haven’t slept in about a week. but still – my csa box is totally rockin’.

this week, i got carrots, beets, potatoes, summer squash, raspberries, parsley, wax beans, romano beans, sugar snap peas, and garlic. so many great, basic ingredients that i can do so many things with – i could hardly wait to get into the kitchen and start cooking.

of course, i’m completely exhausted. don’t get me wrong, my cooking and baking classes are absolutely worth the exhaustion that they create – i’m learning every single day, and my confidence in the kitchen is blowing up. but all this work has the unfortunate effect of making me a bit lazy in my own home kitchen, looking for quick and easy recipes that aren’t too complicated, that i can make with a glass of wine or while i’m still half asleep.

so…potato and summer squash gratin, thanks to a simple online recipe that i adapted slightly with my own ingredients – namely, regular potatoes, skim milk, and a rather obscene amount of grated parmesan cheese.

there’s not much need for a recipe. basically, chop up a few potatoes and a couple summer squashes (squashi? what is the plural of squash?), then layer them in a olive oil coated baking dish with handfuls of your favorite cheese and some salt and pepper. top with a bit of milk and some extra cheese. bake covered at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, then remove cover and bake for 15 more minutes until the top is golden brown. top with fresh herbs and serve.

it rules. and tomorrow, i’m gonna whip up some parsley and walnut pesto with some of my other goodies. yum.

3 thoughts on “csa yumminess

    • nice! yeah, mike kostyo gets the same one and he always does really fun things. i hadn’t seen that recipe – it looks absolutely delicious. too bad i used all my squash and potatoes earlier…

Leave a Reply

