the tuna melt

i’ve met plenty of people through the years that can’t stand seafood. maybe they had a bad experience as a child, maybe they can’t handle the “fishy” smell that many associate with seafood…i love it with a passion, so i can’t really understand it. i love salmon, oysters, clams, octopus, cod, lobster, mussels, swordfish…bring it on, if i haven’t tried it i’m game, and if i have i’ll steal it off your plate. but i still have a soft spot for canned tuna – it just feels like growing up to me, my mom mixing it up with mayo and spices in a bowl to make me a simple tuna sandwich. gotta love it.

i just feel bad for those that don’t like seafood. not only because i love grilled salmon,marinated shrimp, calamari, or a big bowl of oysters…but because one of my favorite meals in the whole world is a hot, cheesy, ridiculously-bad-for-you open faced tuna melt.

it probably helps that i love all of the components – good crusty bread, melting cheese, fresh tomatoes, briny capers or olives…i’ve already had this one today, and just typing this makes me want to put together another one.

i’m sure it sounds like sacrilege to bake a tuna melt instead of heating it up on a frying pan, drowning in melted butter – and i agree, it kind of is. but i’ve been trying to lose weight and i’ve lost 10 pounds, with 20 more to go – it’s probably not really healthier for you, but i’ve convinced myself otherwise. i’m not sure why i bother, since it’s not like sandwiches are really diet food anyway, but i’m a big fan. sandwiches rule.

i’m not going to write this like a real recipe, since it really isn’t – it’s just my version of an awesome sandwich. but if you’re drooling over these pictures and want to know what i used, here it is.

preheat your oven to 400 degrees. lightly toaste some good, chewy bread (i used my no-knead loaf from yesterday) and lay it down on a small baking stone or cookie sheet. in a small bowl, combine a can of tuna, about a tablespoon of mayonnaise, a few teaspoons of parmesan cheese, a dash of oregano, and a bit of salt and pepper. stir well, and spread evenly over both slices of bread. top with sliced tomato, cheese, and capers. bake until all ingredients are warm and the cheese is melted, 8-10 minutes.

in other news, my food anthropology course is ending in just a week and a half, and then…i begin culinary courses. mondays and tuesday are cooking, and wednesdays andthursdays are baking. i’m excited, anxious, and proud all at once – emotions i couldn’t figure out until my chef coat arrived in the mail yesterday, and i hung it on my pot rack and realized that the next 6 weeks are going to be intense, exhausting, and (hopefully) pivotal in my development as a food stylist and photographer.

keep your fingers crossed that i don’t humiliate myself…at least, not on the first day.

6 thoughts on “the tuna melt

  1. I’m one of those people that never liked seafood much. I’d eat clamstrips growing up, and then ventured into fried calamari in high school, and eventually lobster in college, but that was it. never really any actual fish. but gosh darn it, this looks good.

  2. Sandwiches are the best thing, ever! And I like the idea of a tuna melt croque-monsieur. Yum!
    Best of luck on your culinary classes too! I’ll be sure to keep an eye on you and see what I can learn by proxy! :D

  3. Yay! I think my coat is too big though. Are you bringing a camera to class? I am. Since we have to keep a journal I’m just going to blog the whole experience.

    See you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

